top of page
leahblock1

What I Wish I Knew as a Freshman in College

Coming to the University of Alabama from out of state, I was nervous, but I will say I thought I knew it all. Looking back, it makes me laugh. Freshman year at Alabama is so much fun, but I totally needed to hear these ten points and take them to heart. These are things that I wish I would've heard and implemented in my life. To the girls going to college in the fall, read these closely!

IT IS OKAY TO STAY IN

Try not to get caught up in the craziness of going out 5 times a week, it's not good for you. It takes a while to realize this, but you cannot go to everything. Learn how to say no! You don't have to go to everything, take time for yourself.


SUCCESS CANNOT ALWAYS BE WRITTEN ON A RESUME

Just like a lot of you reading this, I was very involved in high school. So many clubs, sports, and volunteer work. Coming to school, I felt lost at such a big University. Just because you aren't a member of every club on campus, doesn't mean you aren't successful. That was a hard thing for me to realize! Being involved in less is okay.


CALL YOUR PARENTS, SIBLINGS, AND GRANDPARENTS

Put a little reminder in your phone to do this weekly! Time starts to go faster, and you realize you haven't made time for them.


ORGANIZATION IS KEY

Using google calendar to keep my deadlines and class schedules in order helps so much! I have a separate planner for my social media content, a journal, and a wellness planner. These are a little extra but you can do what is best for you.


MEET FRIENDS IN CLASS

Going to your first big college lecture is pretty intimidating. Go introduce yourself to people! You will most likely meet friends you will have in your other classes as well. It helps!


MESSING UP IS NORMAL

I came into college thinking that since I was an adult, I had to do everything perfectly. You don't have to be perfect. This entire year is a huge learning experience on how to manage your time. You will learn SO much about yourself and your personal needs.


THE ADORABLE BOY DOWN THE HALL IS PROBABLY NOT THE LOVE OF YOUR LIFE

I could write ten pages about boys in college. A million will tell you they like you, ask you to their date parties, buy you a drink, etc. Don't think that is effort! Take time in boys who want to genuinely get to know you. Take everything slow, and everything they say with a grain of salt. You don't ever know what they are really thinking!


SLOW DOWN, TAKE SOME DEEP BREATHS

Time starts going a little faster each day from now on. Slow down and take it all in. Be patient with your roommates and peers, It goes quicker than you think. Don't take this for granted!


IT'S OKAY TO FEEL LOST

I still feel this way from time to time. God put you where you are for a reason. It's okay to not know what that is yet, or where you are going. Regarding your major, everyone changes it! Do not think you have to have an exact plan for your life all the way through yet. You have plenty of wiggle room.


EARLY CLASSES AREN'T THE END OF THE WORLD

Although it is hard waking up early, you have more time for yourself throughout the day. I am 10x more productive now that I have earlier classes! The later they are, the more you feel like they don't matter. Go to class and make it fun!


College seriously is going to bring you some of the best years of your life. You will meet your best friends, have so much fun, through all the ups and downs. Have fun, know your worth, and take care of yourself. Nobody else will do it for you. Love y'all.

Comentarios


Get Notified When I Post

Thank you!

30A, Tuscaloosa, Houston

  • TikTok
  • iTunes
  • Pinterest
  • Snapchat
  • Instagram

SHOP MY LOOK

DD5F4953-C547-4806-B3AC-90BD34FAD508_1_1

POST ARCHIVE

bottom of page