top of page
leahblock1

NOLA Weekend Trip!

This past weekend I traveled to New Orleans, Louisiana. At the University of Alabama, some Fraternities host their winter formal in New Orleans, which is why we were here!

We left Tuscaloosa around Friday at noon, with one stop along the way. We took 4 charter busses there, which took about 5 hours. The hotel we stayed at was the Astor Crowne Plaza, and it was beautiful! The location was a 5 minute walk to Bourbon Street, so that was amaaaazing. We got to the hotel, unpacked, and got ready to go hit the town. My travel day outfit as well as all my looks for the weekend are all linked in my LTK here! The group we went with was such a blast. We all went together my freshman year too so it made it 10x more fun.

Friday night we went to dinner at Pier 424. It is on bourbon street so it was super close to all the nightlife. I got red beans and rice and it was pretty good! If you are in NOLA, you've gotta get it at least one time while you are here. It's a staple! The price point was a lot better than some of the nicer restaurants in the area. This place was pretty casual! I definitely recommend getting reservations for restaurants in the area. We got lucky this night, but made reservations for the rest of the weekend.


Saturday morning we woke up around 10, and got ready for the day. We started off eating brunch at the Redfish Grille, which was probably a three minute walk from the hotel. They have a $28 bottomless cocktail special if that interests you! I felt like I needed a salad after Friday night, so I got a little cup of gumbo and the butter lettuce & citrus salad. Owen got Oysters, Abbey got Shrimp and Grits and Camryn got the Wood Grilled Redfish with Crab. Positive reviews all around!! This would be somewhere I would recommend. The rest of the day we walked around NOLA. Visited Jackson Square Garden, ran by Cafe du Monde, and did a little shopping. When we were at Jackson Square, we saw a wedding happening at the chapel! It was beautiful. There is so much to see in this city!

After sightseeing a little more, we came back to the hotel to get ready for dinner and formal. I found this beautiful MISA dress at TJMaxx in Houston, TX my junior year and was in love! It is pretty much sold out everywhere but there are similar styles that I linked.

I made dinner reservations at Muriel's in Jackson Square Saturday night. It was by far the best food I have had in a while. I ate here a while back with my mom, and was so surprised we were able to get a table! They usually close at 10, but sat us at 9:30 anyways. The service was amazing and so was the food! The right side of their menu comes with a $50 starter, entree, and dessert option. They have these items a la carté, as well as a normal menu! After dinner, we headed off to the formal!

I have gotten a few questions about safety in NOLA. It definitely is a crazy city, but as long as you are with a group and aware, you will be fine. There have been a few spooky encounters but nothing I haven't dealt with before. Just be aware of your surroundings and you will be okay!

Sunday morning we headed back around noon to Tuscaloosa on the busses. If you are in NOLA I definitely recommend everywhere we ate! The weekend was so much fun. Kisses!

Comments


Get Notified When I Post

Thank you!

30A, Tuscaloosa, Houston

  • TikTok
  • iTunes
  • Pinterest
  • Snapchat
  • Instagram

SHOP MY LOOK

DD5F4953-C547-4806-B3AC-90BD34FAD508_1_1

POST ARCHIVE

bottom of page